KD Web Strategies Blog

August 12, 2009

Dear Recession, You Leave Me No Choice

Filed under: On My Own, Uncategorized — kellyduffort @ 4:32 pm
Source: istockphoto.com

Source: istockphoto.com

I give up. I give in. I’m giving it my all.

I’ve been out of work for a long time (let me repeat L-O-N-G) and I have been looking hard for a job. Job hunting during the recession has been a roller coaster ride. I’ve come close to landing great jobs and I’ve gone months without seeing or hearing of a position that remotely fits my skillset. Extreme highs and real lows.

I am a corporate woman. Well, at least I used to be – for 12 years. When the idea of “going out on your own” came up in conversations, I’d listen in awe to the “go get ‘em” entrepreneurs. They all had a certain quality that propelled them to do what they do and I didn’t think I had it.

I liked the “safety” of the corporate world. Yes, yes, I know it’s not a “safe” place, but I liked the regular paychecks, the healthcare and retirement benefits, the fact that I worked as part of a team. If I couldn’t immediately figure something out, then there was usually someone to call.

Well, I have grown weary of looking for the corporate job that doesn’t exist right now. I give up.

A few months ago, I decided to take a break from the hunt and learn some new skills. I’ve done a couple of pro bono projects for friends and built up confidence in my new self-taught skills. Now, I’m talking with two prospective clients and should one (or both?) of them hire me, perhaps I’ll do something I said I’d never, ever do – go out on my own, start my own business. I give in.

It has been only a couple of weeks since I admitted to myself that I’m really, really going to give small business ownership a serious try. As I’ve started laying the groundwork for my business, I’ve gotten more and more excited. Still, I know it is going to be tough and this next roller coaster ride could have even bigger hills and faster falls. Nevertheless, I’m giving it my all.

Question: If you have ventured out to start your own business and you are giving it all you’ve got, do you have any words of wisdom?

1 Comment »

  1. Go get ’em, Kelly. It looks as if you are off to a great start. Bravo!
    ps: Ask me about another IABC contact/suggestion I have for you later this week.

    Comment by Rebecca Maddox — August 17, 2009 @ 1:43 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

